College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The issue recommends that college students should pursue courses that interest them rather than the courses that lead to jobs. The prompt is an interesting and controversial one and is an increasingly important topic in this age era. Many people believe the opposing views of the issue but these people overlook some basic reasoning in supporting the issues. In my opinion, I agree with this suggestion and argue in supporting my position for several following reasons.

Firstly, the job market is unpredictable over time and in this modern technology, this unpredictability reaches its apex. You took the job-related courses that were very popular at that time, now when you will enter in that job you may see the job has become saturated and no vacancy available and the market has shifted to another job. For example, at my university, the top job-related course was electrical engineering a few years ago, but now computer engineering is at that top position.

Secondly, pursuing subjects in one's own interest can lead someone to be more creative in that sector and to be helpful for the betterment of humankind. For instance, Albert Einstein, Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, etc. all were pursuing their interest to satisfy their curious mind and got successes. However, all people may not get success at pursuing their interests, but in the long run, their mind will be surely satisfied. Mind satisfaction is more needed for a human than money and we all money can not buy happiness.

Thirdly, if all the brilliant mind the only job-related course, then other sectors of education and their related future job opportunities will not be developed properly. For instance, an entrepreneur can create many jobs in a completely new area. That is why courses should be taken according to one's interest rather than picking job-related courses.

However, many people believe in this economical age only a good job can satisfy a man. But these people ignore that many students are becoming the victim of losing interest in studying and become dropped out. This horrible incident is happening for not choosing a subject at one's interest.

In conclusion, many of these issues can never be resolved to everybody's satisfaction, but in the long run, promoting the recommendation will lead to the betterment of all involved. To assess merit or decision one should have full knowledge of all contributing factors otherwise the issue remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.