Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions related to the course they teach.

Colleges are not a trivial part of students life. It is the gateway between their passion and reaching their goals. And teachers are the one's who make this possible. They should help students gain practical knowledege and fit into the society. In my opinion, the faculty also has to put the same effort helping studetns as the students put into their career. It is a good thing for the faculty to work outside academic world in works related to their profession because of but not limited to the following three reasons.

Teacher having spent many years in the academic field often tend to not recognise the changing demands and circumstances in the outside world. They generally concentrate on how to make their students understand the topics given in the curriculum but they do not help the students know how these concepts are going to help them when they graduate. For example, a computer science who studies Machine Learning learn how to code the algorithms in his college days. But when he graduates and gets a job, the reality is different. He observes that machine learning is not just about coding, but it is also about recognising the pattern in the given data. He struggles to decipher the pattern between different values and come up with the solutions. Had he been able to understand this in his college days by his professor, he would not have suffered now. The above example states that professors of a education institute should be a gumption of real world knowledge. It occurs only when they work outside his college on things related to his profession.

One more advantage for the professors is that they could provide some good contribution to the society if they work on some other projects outside their college. A college provides a professors with income for his teaching to the students but it does not concentrate on other things. Like a professor can start a reseach project which gives a contribution to the society. Or he can start his own online teaching business which is very helpful for the students who wants to learn different courses. For example, a teacher of a college in China started an online teaching platform. He provided the subscribers of the platform with courses not taught in the colleges and which are really helpful to the outside world. Many students are not very benifited with his courses. He made a great contribution to the society and he stands as an inspiration to many societies.

One more point to consider is, the income provided by the colleges to professors of a are not sufficient to them. They have many working hours and they have to maintain a family and they cannot work on other professions not related to their field. By allowing them to work outside their academic world can help them alleviate their problem a little bit. For example, a professor working in a college might have to spend money in many things like transport, family, courses to be up-to-date on his field which is not be sufficient for him. This extra amount of income helps him to work better in his profession.

To conclude, it is very helpful for the society and also the students if colleges requires its faculty to spend time on outside professions related to their courses.