Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Essay topics

Colleges and universities are institutions of higher learning that provide both student and faculty with valuable knowledge in various fields. Faculty in colleges or universities are usually composed of either professors, their assistants, lecturers, and various other teaching and research staff that make up each and every department in the institution. They all specialize in various research areas and handle different roles in disseminating applicable and theoretical academic knowledge to the student fraternity. To purport that this institutions of higher learning should require its faculty to spend time working outside the academic world is quite specious.

Departments or school associated with the college or university faculties spend so much time either in lecture halls, libraries, laboratories, seminars among other areas doing research and advancing there knowledge and skills in order to accurately interpret and relay information to their students. This activities take time and effort to handle and gives them little or no time venture into other fields outside academia.

Faculty also need to spend time with their families and maintain their social life. Since their work consumes most of their time like in every other profession, it is unrealistic to require them to spend valuable time out of academia. As much as the idea of them working in other professions seems plausible it is in fact overwhelming to handle an academic profession due to its demanding nature. For example, students often look for their professors during unofficial hours to ask questions, and seek explanations for things they do not understand in class. It would be very difficult to balance between being available on campus for your students and having to leave the area by the minute to pursue other interest relevant to the course.

Faculties are typically composed of individuals who have specialized in certain areas of research and scarcely need to improve their knowledge outside academia. This is because universities and colleges provide resources necessary for them to sharpen their knowledge and skills in both theoretical and practical disciplines. They also have special chambers set up in libraries and other areas to help them interact with others of different departments and share knowledge. It would therefore be a waste of limited resources to require all faculty to spending time outside the academic. Instead it would be commendable to implement the programs in the universities and colleges that support faculty learning and interests to enrich their work and help them in teaching and lecturing their students.