Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced

At first glance, the advertising director's recommendations may seem quite ingenious. However, a closer look raises many questions due to the various assumptions and inconclusive theories which must be addressed if the recommendation is to be taken seriously.

First, the director explains that according to the reports from the marketing department, fewer people attended Super screen -produced movies last year than in any other year.He instead posits that the low attendance is a result of limited outreach of reviews to the public. Even if this assumption proved to be true, it would not automatically render his view as accurate. The letter does not provide any evidence of direct correlation between the drop in attendance and the quality of movies. It could be that people are getting this reviews and but they are choosing not to attend. Without a survey or questionnaire asking people to opine reasons behind limited attendance, he can not back up his claim.

Secondly the assumption that the number of people attending the movies is based on reviews reaching them is quite inferior without some proper evidence. For example many people choose to watch new movies without necessarily knowing about the ratings or reviews. Just because a movie has good reviews, it does not automatically lure everyone's liking. People may like movies depending on their genre or plot or actors, thus quality may be very relative since it may be defined differently by the public. The contrary can be true if there was any survey or data presented by the director.

The director claims that only specific Super screen movies had increased percentages in reviews in the past year. According to him, lack of enough reviews reaching the public and informing them about the availability of quality movies is the problem. This claim is quite ambiguous and does not address why only specific movies had increased percentages in reviews from movie reviewers. Maybe the other movies were poor in quality and consequently were not among the specific ones which got reviewed. There could also be other means people could have used besides reviews to learn about the movies but had been apathetic towards attending them. This questions must be answered before the recommendation is entertained.

Finally, the director speculates that Super screen production should allocate a greater share of its budget to reaching out to the public through advertising. As credulous as this idea may seem, it my may not be plausible without investigating whether people wish to be reached with this content. For example, there could be other movie productions businesses newly open in the area that attract interest of the people or maybe the public prefer watching movies on the internet, For instance, on Netflix or any other domains as opposed to making trips to watch movies at Super screen production. Effecting this recommendation without determining where the public interest lies and trying to curb it will not help the situation.