The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Many people believe that teaching is a calling and not just a mere job. It can be defined as a process of passing knowledge and skills from one person to another in either an academic, social or industrial setting. There are various and disparate styles and methods of teaching including Lecturing, Group discussions, Virtual online classes, and experimentation.

Giving deserved praise when one does well during a teaching session can usually be a good thing. However, excessive approbations to those whose actions are better than others can often prove to be detrimental. Students with positive actions may be a target for mockery and jittery from others who do not receive the same kind of attention from teachers. They may be systematically left out of clubs and groups and be branded as snitches or teachers’ favorites. It is thus paramount for a teacher to offer praise either privately or to encourage other students in the process instead of ignoring them, in order to help avoid this quandaries.

Teachers should also understand all students, know their strengths and weakness and employ strategies that ensure all students are involved. For instance, by dividing the class into smaller groups of slow learners, moderate students and fast learners, as opposed to one large multitude may help to entertain different questions, emphasize different points of view and deliberate on various topics when handling each group. This may also encourage students whose action are perceived as negative to develop some discipline and participate in the classroom through group discussions and sharing of ideas.

While lauding a student’s great performance in a subject in a class setting is quite a positive way of encouraging him or her, it can have a negative effect on other students who may feel that they are not good enough. This may hinder hard work and better performance from these students and encourage laxity. It may also make them feel left out and ignored by the teachers. It is therefore necessary to handle encomiums with care while simultaneously encouraging effort.

A teacher may find it more beneficial to ignore rowdy students or those whose actions have negative impact in the classroom than get angry and lose self-control. It may be easier stay quiet and focus on the better behaved students as opposed to imposing punishments. However, this can often lead to poor performance during a teaching session both by teacher and the student. A student who keeps making noise or playing in the classroom would benefit more from corrective actions such as detention than being ignored. Such action may make them aware of their negative actions and propel positive change in behavior. A teacher may also not be able to teach effectively due to the disruption caused by the students whose actions are negatively divergent when ignoring them. Thus as much as ignoring negative actions seems plausible, it may not always have the best results.

Finally, some students may not know their actions are inherently negative. Assuming that such students purposefully make mistakes or ignoring them without correction can make a teacher not only be ineffective but also lose his or her job. He or she may also preclude the student’s success both in the subject being taught and in life by not taking appropriate action. It is thus be more beneficial to not only praise positive action and prudence carefully but also to avoid the limiting and backward tendency of ignoring students with negative actions or behavior.