Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement mentions about mandatory study abroad for at least one semester for students. It is true that studying in a different country where students can have huge opportunities to earn more knowledge and grow their personalities is every student’s dream; however, many expenses need to be considered before making such a decision.

Consider how much money requires studying in another country for one semester. Universities and government can help students with financial aid for tuition based on their income, but obviously academies cannot pay for airplane tickets, living expenses, food, and clothes for students. In California students usually need same type and amount of clothes for cold weather, but in Norway students really need warm clothes to be able to live there especially if they are not used to live in a very cold weather. In addition, it is expensive to pay rent even with roommates in different countries.

Additionally, it is not necessary to go far away to understand different cultures. Educational institutions can make cultural events to make sure students learn about diverse nations. It is really easy these days because there are many international students in campuses. Also, there even can be virtual events which can make connections with other students in long distance. Imagine how easy communication is with other students and teachers when they can use facetime, email, and other technologies.

However, it can be a dream for every student to go to a foreign place to study even if it will not be affordable for them. There are many positive results for students. For example, students can be more independent person by living away from their families for a while. Another positive outcome is to have more interaction with others and get more adapted to different places and situations which is beneficial for their personalities and also for their future job environments. And the most important part for students is to develop more learning skills from various learning equipment and teaching systems.

There are many opportunities about studying in a different country; however, educational institutions should not require students to study at least one semester in a foreign place. Imagine how many of students would not be able to afford it.