Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

There is no doubt that spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country would benefit college and university students. In fact, having international experiences can help students developing a more tolerant attitude towards different cultures, it can broad the horizons and increase the level of autonomy. However, there are some practical issues that doesn't permit that this experience is mandatory, remaining only as a recommendation. In this essay, we will address both the benefits related to studying abroad and the difficulties of implementing such a requirement.

First of all, several studies had shown that people who travel more and have more contact with different cultures develop a more tolerant attitude towards different cultures, traditions and histories. In an increasingly globalised world, tolerance is a behavior that should be encourage in every experience. Travelling around the world, understanding that some things that we could think as natural are in fact culturally produced, and having contact with distinct people and places is an important experience for broadening students horizons.

Another aspect that can be develop during an exchange program is the level of autonomy. In general, students in college are still living with their parents and have less responsibilities. However, after moving country, students are by their own. They should learn how to survive without their parents attention. This experience is important to developing professionals with more autonomy and ensuring that we don't have a generation of lazy people.

Studying abroad can also be an opportunity for learning and improving language skills. Specially for those choosing countries with different native languages, the semester abroad is a perfect occasion for strengthening language skills. In line with the first reason, language skills can also be an important factor in producing more tolerant human beings.

In spite of all the benefits, we argue that spending a semester abroad should not be mandatory. There are some technical and practical issues that make the implementation of such policy very challenging. The more clear one is the funding. Who would be responsible for funding the semester abroad? The parents that are already paying universities tuition or the educational institutions that do not have this kind of money? Another aspect that should be taken into account is the differences between the programs. Are the subjects the same? Who can attest that the subjects are similar in different countries?

Therefore, I argue that spending a semester abroad should be encourage by parents, educational institutions and students itself. However, before this can become a graduation requirement some technical and practical issues should be address.