Companies

When we are stuck on something, whether it be a project, a paper, or a leaky pipe under the sink, we are often told to take a break and come back to the problem with a fresh outlook. This new perspective allows us to see and solve the problem from a new angle. Companies face problems everyday, and I believe that for them to be able to solve those issues, they need a new perspective. This perspective is most efficent when it originates from outside consultants.

At first, it seems that hiring someone who knows nothing about the domain of the company is a bad move. Indeed, how can they find a solution if they don't understand how things happen in the first place? Yet, I would argue that coming to a problem without as much experience as a company's employee can be beneficial to the progress of the company because it allows for new ideas to flow more freely. Indeed, many industrial developments come from the spread of an idea that originated in very different field. For example, developments in the airplane and automobile industry heavily influenced how hospitals are run today. Indeed, many healthcare providers rely on closed-loop communication and error-proof systems to increase patient safety. Those strategies were first used on assembly lines and aircrafts. If a company hires a consultant, the hired person may be able to see an opportunity to transpose one solution from one field to another, increasing the operation efficiency of the hiring company more than employees from the company could have.

Additionally, even if the consultants come from the same background as the employees, the former's experience with multiple clients can be an advantage for the hiring company. Indeed, the outside consultants may have worked with similar companies on similar solutions, and can offer a faster way of solving a problem to the hiring company, which would then not have to resolve to a lengthy and costly trial and error process.

In truth, employees should consider the hiring of outside consultants as a benefit. This process allows them to focus on their work and give feedback on the functioning of the company while worrying less about the consequences of giving negative feedback. If current employees express concern about a current process of the company to a superior or peer, there might be negative repercussions. However, if the company sets up the consulting project with opportunities for the staff and the consultants to communicate about what is and isn't working in the company, honest and constructive feedback can emerge. In fact, employees are a valuable resource for consultants. For example, when Boston Children's Hospital was designing the new floors of inpatient units, they hired an outside consultant who worked with staff members to try out different configurations of the space. This collaborative work resulted in a product that satisfied the employees and fit the needs of the employer. This type of satisfactory result can come from the hiring of an outside consultant.

In conclusion, while hiring an outside consultant may seem counterintuitive, this process actually allows the company to look at its own functioning with a set of fresh eyes. If companies use this new outlook in collaboration with employee feedback, I believe it is the best way to improve the efficiency of a company's operations.