Fossil evidence indicates that the blompus-an extremely large, carnivorous land mammal-inhabited the continent of Pentagoria for tens of thousands of years until its sudden decline and ultimate extinction about twelve thousand years ago. Scientists have determined that the extinction coincided with a period of significant climate change and with the arrival of the first humans. Some scholars theorize that the climate change so altered the distribution of plants and animals in the environment that the food chain upon which the blompus depended was irretrievably disrupted. Others contend that predation by humans is the more plausible explanation for the rapid population decline.

Write a response in which you discuss specific evidence that could be used to decide between the proposed explanations above.

In this paragraph, the author is presenting two theories as to why the blompus, a large, carnivorous land mammal suddenly and quickly went extinct. Those contrasting theories posit climate change and human predation as main causes of blompus extinction, but I do not believe that the author incorporates enough evidence to make a solid argument for either theory.

Firstly, the author mentions that scientists showed that climate change or human predation coincided with the extinction of the blompus. The author then goes on to explain how both of these phenomenon can be used as causes for the extinction of the blompus. This is a classic case of mistaking correlation for causation. Just because two things happened at the same time does not mean one is causing the other. The author would make a stronger point about the validity of climate change and human predation if they mentioned that the climate changed in the areas where the blompus went extinct, or that humans painted scenes of blompus hunting. Without a stronger connection between the three different events, it is difficult to make the initial claim that they are related.

Moreover, the author does not present compelling evidence as to how climate change may have caused the extinction. They mention that some scientists believe that climate change affected the food chain enough to disrupt the life of the blompus dramatically. Yet, the author does not mention the names of specific scientists, and does not present an hypothetical foodchain. To be more effective, this argument could incorporate examples of smaller animals for which scientists can only find fossils around the same time as those found for the blompus, showing a possible interrelated decline.

Additionally, climate change could have caused the extinction of the blompus through other mechanisms. For example, temperatures may have become too cold or too hot for the blompus, which did not survice this change.

Without more specific hard evidence, I am not convinced that climate chain caused the blompus exctinction because, and especially though the disruption of a hypothetical food chain.

Similarly, the argument that human predation caused the extinction of the blompus is lackluster. We do not read of any specific theorist, any specific dates or time frame during which this would have happened. It is possible the apparition of humans may have contributed to the demise of the blompus, yet the author does not make a compelling argument that there was a direct relationship with the two. Indeed, humans could have competed with the rompus for the same food and suceeded in taking over their habitat without actually ever hunting and killing a single blompus. To make this argument stronger, the author would need to provide us that human fossils or traces were found in the area where the blompus lived and that the two species interacted with each other. Again, the author makes the mistake of assuming causation because there is correlation.

In conclusion, while the author paints broad strokes of plausible theories, they do not make a compelling argument for either one of them, or even a combination of the two. The author would need to present more specific evidence to convice me of an actual causal relationship. Only once this has been achieved will we be able to truly debate which theory makes more logical sense.