Fossil evidence indicates that the blompus-an extremely large, carnivorous land mammal-inhabited the continent of Pentagoria for tens of thousands of years until its sudden decline and ultimate extinction about twelve thousand years ago. Scientists have determined that the extinction coincided with a period of significant climate change and with the arrival of the first humans. Some scholars theorize that the climate change so altered the distribution of plants and animals in the environment that the food chain upon which the blompus depended was irretrievably disrupted. Others contend that predation by humans is the more plausible explanation for the rapid population decline.

The extinction of the carnivore blompus occurred due to the precipitous changes in the climatic conditions as well as due to the arrival of the first human species on the plant and their predation, as the argument avers. There are several fallacies in the argument, and is not logically convincing as it ignores a number of certain crucial assumptions.

Firstly, it is assumed that the sudden decline was due to climatic changes and human predation which are undoubtedly the most mundane and broad reasons behind the extinction of several animal species. There has to be a more appropriate and precise reason behind the disappearance of any animal on earth. Alterations in the weather and hunting of animals have been ongoing since a long period and although many animals became endangered in this process, there are several species which are still extant.

Additionally, after the prevalence of first humans, it cannot be reckoned that humans solely hunted carnivores such as Blompus, for their food or to protect themselves from it’s attack. It is obvious that the homo sapiens must have had plants and other easily edible options to buttress their survival. Moreover, other species also must have been under scrutiny and would have suffered in a similar manner.

It is also clear that hunting required specialised tools and equipments and the human race must have taken a lot of of time and endurance in order to develop weapons for hunting. Especially for large carnivores like Blompus. Therefore, surmising the extinction of the animal due to predation by humans is not a pragmatic approach.

Hence, to recapitulate and further submit my stance, the rationale to conclude the extinction of a species should be done comparatively intense and scrupulous manner rather than assuming hackneyed reasonings like climatic change and predation.