Studying food ways- what people eat and how they produce, acquire, prepare and consume them is the best way to gain deeper understanding of a culture.

Food ways are often considered as the best way to gain knowledge about a particular culture. However, this theory does not hold true due to varied reasons and my stance is justified in the ensuing paragraphs.

There can be a variety of aspects in which a culture can be analysed. Evolutionary history, religious and spiritual beliefs, similarities and differences in comparison to other closely related cultures can all be considered as pertinent and hold greater validity in order to study the nuances of a culture meticulously.

It cannot be ignored that the food patterns of a certain population depends upon the geography of that area, the weather conditions, availability of food and the kind of life the people residing in that zone lead and most importantly what kind of food does a person savour. This clearly has nothing to do with the cultural background and hence the evaluation of a culture cannot be based solely on the foodways.

Proponents of the stated belief might argue by aversions like every culture has a peculiar and unique food way and leads to subtle differences in the extant cultures of the world. Although, this can be a reason to consider it as one of the counting factors but definitely not the best and the absolute one.

Thus to recapitulate and submit my perspective, the evaluation shall be eclectic rather than limiting our vision to one particular factor. Additionally factors such as history and religious beliefs shall be given more importance as compared to food ways.