Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.Write a response in which you di

It is paramount that the company takes measures to avoid lawsuits and enhance the productivity of it's employees but monitoring emails may not solve the actual problem.

With the rapid developments in technology and cheaper access to internet, it is possible for anyone to connect with the outside world and spread information. A major problem companies face during lawsuits are, employees browsing websites or pages related to patents or confidential materials that may seem innocuous. But these sites can be trac back the access to the company's network and can charge them of illegal practices. If an employee wishes to pass secret information related to their work, they can use their personal mail or messaging applications on their smarphones, which may not be caught till the information is out. A mere monitoring of mails may not be sufficient to prevent illegal practices but, raising awareness through trainings, strict actions against defaulters and providing proper forums to inform about such activities while maintaining anonymity of the informer can help the company better.

Office gossip is a major part of daily work life and is also essential. But an excess may affect the productivity of the company. Mails could be a medium of such chatter in early days and but it is also a fast way to share photos or documents within the organization. An excess of such mails can clog the mail services and disrupt the work flow which is in support of the point mentioned by the author. But implementing this monitoring process can help the company save it's resources by inhibiting their employees from clogging the servers, but may provide means for people to leave their cubicles often to gossip which may in effect reduce productivity.

But, considering that there are people who often speak with customers and internal team members who have similar names such as Tim, such monitoring can help the employees by preventing them from sending confidential details like the sales representative can avoid sending their customer Tim their sales forecast instead send it to the correct Tim within their office.