"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predi

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The advice provided by the firm seems logical based on the fact that these aberrant weather conditions will help in the sales of oil. But on closer examination, we can find that the evidence provided to support the rising value of Consolidated Industries is insufficient.

One of the major points in the argument is the author's assumption that the people are excessively dependent on oil for heating and will continue to remain so. Even during the 90 days of abnormalities the author does not mention the extent to which the oil consumption has increased. If the increase is not substantial it is hard to support that any supplier would have seen an increase in sales. It is possible that the same people preferred to use an alternative heating source such as electric heaters or coal chimneys which could have been cheaper. The author must provide details pertaining to the rise in sales of oil during the 90 days and it's effectiveness in terms of cost over alternative solutions to support his claim.

The agrgument states that new homes are being built in response to a population growth, which could mean that the local government is building facilities which are sufficient to accommodate the current population and it may not be planning for the future. Given that the weather has changed, were the same people able to cope up with it, how many people have fallen sick or faced serious illness? Without answering these questions it would be improper to believe that people here would stay any longer and not wish to migrate elsewhere. To support the argument, the author should support his claim by providing information that can support a rise in population.

Assuming that the oil is a major heating source and is on demand, one should be wary of the fact that new players can rise at any point and may provide better quality or price. Without considering local players who can dent the market of Consolidated, it is hard to say that Consolidated Industries will benefit from this climatic change. Since this advice is about an investment, one should also consider other domains in which Consolidated is running it's businesses and the author should provide details that can tell us about the state of other businesses and the effect of the climatic change over it's total revenue. Hence, it is hard to support the claim made by the firm just based on the evidence provided.