Some people believe that a college or a university education should be available to all students. Others believe that higher education should be available only to good students. Discuss these views, which view do you agree with? Explain why?

Colleges or universities are the centers of knowledge and they provide a platform to enhance a person's knowledge through discussion and experimentation unlike any other phase of the conventional education system. It is hard to quantify a student as good or bad based on a set of metrics and at the same time, it is hard to extrapolate a student's behaviour based on their past.

Today people have access to learn various subjects within a click of a button and many children at a young age show their tendency towards experimentation and achieve great leaps of success. But the same children may not be performing well in their history or language classes. By ridding them from accessing the talent pool present in such places based on their academic background would be unfair.

Some times a student's score can be a product of poor pedagogy, disturbances occurring from family fights and not their inability to study, meaning that an apple to apple comparison cannot be made between students. A student who has performed well in their high school may become complacent after entering college while a student with poor academics in high school may excel there. These variations can be attributed to the quality of teaching and conduciveness of the surroundings. It is also possible that the students who scored well in their school exams received immense support and tutoring from their parents which are not available in the university.

There are various factors which affect a student's performance in high school and do not provide any hint about their ability to cope up with the college curriculum or its culture. In conclusion, it is essential to provide college education to all students who aspire for it.