Corporate Responsibility

Corporations are organizations that are formed with the aim of making profits. There exists many different types of companies in the world. Among the many types of companies that exists are the types that use natural resources as raw materials to make profits. In some cases these natural resources are in places inhabited by people. It is only fair that these natural resources benefits the people living in those areas. Equally, companies are responsible for ensuring that they run a sustainable use of the natural resources. Therefore, Companies that utilize natural resources in a particular community have a responsibility to promote well being of the people in the area and also protect the environment.

Mining companies are the perfect example. In the world, exists many minerals which are very important for various purposes. These minerals are found in different parts of the world. Mining companies locate these areas and set up mines. However most of these areas are communities where people live. it is morally correct that the mining companies that set up mines in such places contribute to the development of such places. After all the minerals belong to the indigenous people. Vandetta, a mining company in Zambia recognizes that they have a social responsibility to uplift the lives of people. The company has built hospitals , schools for the local people and provides scholarship for students within the communities they operate on. Furthermore, mining operation are known to produce waste products. These wastes if not taken care of properly, have the capacity to cause pollution and harm the environment. Konkola copper mine in Zimbabwe cause pollution by dumping mine wastes in rivers, harming aquatic organisms. there for continued operation of the mining companies it is there responsibility to ensure the environment is protected through proper handling of waste products.

The Timber industry is another great illustration of the need for companies to protect trees. Timber is obtained through the cutting down of trees to be used as raw materials. For this practice to remain sustainable, it is imperative that trees re replanted as much as they are cut down. Companies that cut down trees, thus have the responsibility to make sure that trees are being replanted. This measure will ensure that the environment is protected from degradation. In order to prevent deforestation, the government of China implemented a law that every company that produces timber should always replant trees at the same rate as they cut down to protect the environment. This rule has ensured the continued production of timber.

Companies producing hydroelectricity ought to improve the community they operate in. The production of electricity requires a great volume of water. Before the production begins. A dam has to be built along a river. This causes many disruptions to the lives people living in such areas. people are displaced from their homes, others lose their source of livelihood in fishing. Companies tend to compensate these people by providing them alternative employment. Zesco a company in Zambia built school hospitals and a trade school for people in Kariba where a hydro power station was built to uplift the lives of people living there. in this way the people were compensated for the dam built which initially disrupted what was the main source of income.

Others may argue that companies pay huge amount of taxes to governments and thus shouldn't be required to further be burdened with social responsibility. Admittedly corporations pay a huge chunk of their profits ti governments.In turn governments used these taxes to develop the country. however, these taxes are usually for the government expenses and rarely do they reflect the development of communities in which the companies operation. Katanga region in Congo houses so many mines due to abundant minerals it possesses. yet it remained underdeveloped for years when companies paid only taxes to the government. only when companies too up social development projects with the communities has there been significant development. therefore to ensure that people benefits. Companies should take up social responsibilities to develop the communities they operate in addition to the taxes paid.

In conclusion, it is the responsibilities of companies that use natural resources to develop societies in which they operate in . It is also their duty to ensure the environment is protected by proper handling of wastes and through sustainable use of such resources.