"Creating an appealing image has become more important in contemporary society than is the reality or truth behind that image."

Appealing image has certainly become a lot more important than before due to the fast development of multimedia technology in contemporary society. The importance of appealing images is particularly high in fields such as business, politics and art. Nevertheless, the reality and truth behind the images are what really matter in the long run.

In marketing of any business, appealing images in advertisement catch higher public attention to their products, therefore help boost higher revenue. For example, in automobile industry, most cars of different brands have reached the basic engine function level and safety standards. How to promote each different brand? Through advertisement of appealing images! After all, one can’t resist taking another glimpse at the image of a gorgeous person driving a sparkling car on a coastline road. Subconsciously, one creates the connection between this car and the comfort and coolness conveyed via the images. This connection becomes a good impression towards the brand in people’s mind, which creates higher tendency to purchase in the future.

In politics and art, appealing images have similar effects of attracting audiences. In political campaigns nowadays, how candidates dress up and talk seems to get more attention than the actual content of their speeches. As a result, candidates who are successfully wrapped in a patriot, family-oriented, friendly, and charitable image can get higher votes. Similarly, art shows and exhibitions get more audience by displaying more appealing images. Most audience buy tickets because the advertisement looks fun and artistic. If you ask them how much they know about the actual performance or the artist, they probably don’t know much.

Despite the success of using appealing images, the favorable effects all tend to be short-term. If one takes longer-term data into consideration, the actual quality and truth does matter a lot to the effect of promotion and continuous growth. People won’t purchase again or tell their friends about this car if they constantly come across small glitches, nor if the gas consumption is too high. The electorate won’t vote for the same candidates again if they can’t deliver what they have promised during election. Art shows can only be a one-time deal if art works displayed are not of great value.

To sum up, appealing images are effective means for a great start. But for any product, art works and political candidates to have consistent influence among people over a longer period, the real quality and truth is needed. As a result, BMW has been a prominent brand in automobile industry for many decades due to their dedication to quality and details of each single piece. Teddy Roosevelt is still being constantly brought up for his remarkable contribution to building Panama Canal and establishing National Park system. Picasso’s art shows are still always sold out thanks to his eccentric artistic expression.