People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

People’s behaviors, results of conscious thinking and unconscious intuition, are largely determined by genetic composition and cultural influences. We inherit genes from our parents and acquire cultural cognizance from our society, which are both forces not of our own making. Nonetheless, by learning, experiencing and reflecting more, people can still make some changes to their own behaviors.

According to neuroscience, human behavior is the consequence of intertwined influence of both cognitive and affective systems. Cognitive system helps us understand this item in front of us called ice-cream can help us cool down in summer but can also increase the sugar and calorie taking of the day. Affective system soon shows anxiety then disgust by the possibility of getting fat. Hence the behavior of rejecting the ice-cream in the end.

To analyze further, cognitive and affective systems are directly controlled by genetic uniqueness and social environment.

Genetically speaking, same incidents arouse different behaviors in different person. Some people tend to be more cautious, yet others might tend to be more audacious. Some students find the pleasure in persistent trying on solving challenging tasks, others get frustrated and bored. Researchers have mostly agreed that most behaviors are inherent which are embedded in our genes.

Despite the difference in genes, social environment also plays a critical role in influencing our behavior. In western countries, personal space is very important. When standing in a line, the person behind you will probably stand at least 50 cm away from you. However, in China, personal space is not as emphasized. Having people almost breathing on your neck in public transportation is not a rare thing. This difference is mostly created by social environment in both countries. In China, even though it is uncomfortable being so close to each other, it is very crowded in big cities that we just don’t have enough room for people to keep the ideal distance.

As much as we would like to free will to control our behavior, it is hardly of our own control. It seems to eat the ice-cream or not is up to ourselves, but the cravings for sugar, the ability to resist temptation and the acceptance of being overweight are not up to us. Can we practice and enhance our resistance? Sure we can! but how much change we can make is again up to our genes.