Creativity should be used as the only true measure of intelligence.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing or supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be sed to challenge your position.

Intelligence, is a very vague and complex term. It cannot be trivially determined by measuring a few features or characteristics of a person. Hence, one cannot equate intelligence to a sum of a few properties. Thus, using creativity, which is itself a vague characteristic, as the sole determinant of intelligence is massively flawed.

Firstly, One can only make simplistic correlations between intelligence and certain qualities of a person, and that too under the given context. In the case of a university lecturer, we may conclude that a Professor is intelligent if he or she has a deep understanding of their relevant field. True, Creativity can play a minor role in the assesment but it certainly cannot be the only true measure of intelligence in such a scenario. Another example is that of a group leader. An intelligent leader should be capable of emphathising with the members and push them forward. Again, creativity can enhance the capabilities of the leader, but it cannot make up for their lack of, say, emotional quotient.

Secondly, creativity does not directly imply intelligence, there is no causative relation between the two. There can be many creative ways to tie up strings but that doesn't imply the it is intelligent. Many times artists attribute their revolutionary music or art to their subconscious working with no mental supervision. This would mean that there was no conscious effort or thinking which went into the work, but its creative aspects cannot be denied.

It can be argued that creativity is a pre-requisite for intelligence. However, it alone cannot be used to measure intellectual capability. Leonardo da Vinci was a great artist and scientist. He was a marvel quite ahead of his time. But his genious cannot be attributed solely to his creative mind. He was a meticulous and critical thinker, which made him the personality that he was.

In conclusion, creativity alone cannot be a measure of intelligence. Both intelligence and creativity are vague in themselves and not quantitatively measurable. They do not have a causative relation and hence, they cannot be used for measurements.