Creativity should be used as the only true measure of intelligence.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

There has been a long debate between intellectuals, regarding the issue of whether creativity is the only factor that plays a role in innovation. This topic analyzes a similar controversial topic of whether intelligence is solely based on creativity or not. Apart from a few concessions, I strongly disapprove of this suggestion of considering creativity as the single most important factor in defining intelligence for two reasons.

Firstly, the term "creativity" is a very vague term. As of yet, there has been no concise definition for this term. What does it mean? Does it mean the ability to find new solutions? Does it mean to have a different outlook? While some argue that creativity means having a different outlook - also known as "thinking outside the box" -, others argue that creativity is the ability to form new ideas based on previous knowledge. However, both of these definitions fail to provide a clear meaning of the word "creativity". Thus, we cannot use creativity as a measure of intelligence.

Furthermore, there are many other factors apart from creativity that should be used as a measure of intelligence - such as critical thinking, ability to recognize patterns, etc. While creativity plays a vital role in an invention, it also needs to be supplemented with other faculties of intelligence and technical knowledge of respective field. While creativity could only give a breakthrough through a problem, it alone is not sufficient for developing a solution. For instance, Albert Einstein was famous for his thought experiments - using imagination to form various hypothesis regarding physics. This was his creative ability, which allowed him to find solutions to complex problems by mere visualization. However, he also needed to supplement it with other technical knowledge of physics and mathematics to further develop a solution found by creative visualization. As such, creativity is incapable of representing intelligence by itself.

In some situations however, creativity plays the most important role in an endeavor. It gives the person an epiphany. In complex scientific problems, sometimes creativity is the only way out - technical knowledge falls short of deriving a solution. Whether creativity be considered the most important factor or not is a double edged sword. Still, it cannot be the single most important factor, as many other factors play role in intelligence.