Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Any type of work should be judged by the expert in that field. Any type of research papers should be scrutinized by the expert in the field of particular paper. But there are many cases in which the above statement does not hold true.

Take for example movies which hit the theaters are judged or scrutinized by film critics,directors and producers associated in that industry. But people generally have less in their judgement as sometimes the judgement tends to be biased.So, people like us takes the help Of websites like google or rotable tomatoes to see what general people has said about those movies. They have more faith in the judgement of those people who has given rating or writing comments about those movies in those websites. Expert" people like "us" would still have more faith in them than the actual experts in that field. after we as people will then decide whether to watch that movie or not.

The person has that tendency to judge that restaurant based on what is given online rather than what the actual food "experts" are saying. One such reason maybe is that the food which may be Liked by those food critics may or may not be liked by common people like us. So we as people will make the decision after we consult with our friends or from those people who have actually visited that restaurant.

But whenever it comes in to the academic background the actual statement given holds true. Suppose when any student is opting to pursue PhD program in any university he or she has to present the topic of dissertation to their respective branch of that university. So, in Order to judge the quality of topic the university will then select some researchers who has same area of ​​interest or has previously worked or currently working with that topic. If for example any student wants to pursue his PhD in Fluid mechanics the university will select some group Of researchers who are involved in the field of fluid mechanics to give their judgement about that topic. They will not select any biological researchers to rate his topic. Since that researcher may not have that much idea about that particular topic.

Only three examples have been considered here out of possible millions. If we look at a behaviour sense then judgement made by the "real experts" should be given more importance. But sometimes judgement from the not so called experts should be considered as it may have Some positive result which may lead to some important findings