Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author claim that critical judgement of work in any given field has more value when it comes from someone who is expert in that field. I do not agree with this claim because someone might be expert in a field, but layperson is the one who benefits or suffers from the work in any given field. So, critical judgement of work in any given field is very important when it comes from a layperson.

First, medical service is a very important field. Doctor is the one who is expert in medical service. And patient is the one who benefits or suffers from the work of doctors. When a patient does not get necessary treatment due to lack of attention from a doctor, it has serious consequences. In this case, it does not have to be an expert to critically judge the work of the doctor. If the management takes the opinion of patient seriously, it will make the service better.

Second, the educational institutes play a significant role in our society. They shape society as well as the world through teaching, learning, research and knowledge creation. A student is supposed to be better person after completion of his/her educational degree. Though the teachers and other facilitators are responsible for the educational activities, the education becomes more effective when the involve parents in the process. An educational institute becomes better when they evaluate the critical judgement of the parents regularly.

Some may argue that the critical judgement should only come from experts because they are the only one who understand the work. This argument is not necessarily true because one may have all the expertise in his hand, but it is the layperson who is experiencing the work of the expert. So, the critical judgement of a layperson in any given field should be consider as valuable as the critical judgement of the expert.

Since layperson is the one who benefits/suffers from the work of expert and experience the real life consequences, it is not true that critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.