Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

The author states that although innovations such as video, computers, and the internet offer schools improved methods for instructing students, they all too often distract from real learning. I strongly disagree with this statement because technological innovations have made instructing students easier by offering Microsoft Office, animations, Photoshop and CAD/CAM which help students to clearly understand a topic. Moreover, because of video, computers and the internet, various online video and audio tutorials became possible which created a whole new world for instructing students.

First, in classroom, teachers and other instructors use Powerpoint a lot, because it offers excellent presentation with numerous video and audio effects. Because of it, a complex topic can be explained very easily. For example, the working principle of a knitting machine may seem very difficult at first. But when the principle of a knitting machine is explained with an animation, it becomes very easy for the students.

Second, a student may miss any class due to sickness or other complication. Using technology, it became very easy to make video and audio tutorial. If an instructor makes a video tutorial of a particular topic, and upload it on the internet, the student can participate in the learning process even if he/she is not present in the school. For example, Khan Academy is doing the same thing for some years now. Because of Khan Academy, student from all around the world can learn anything from anywhere.

Some may argue that technological innovations are often distracting from real learning. Although at some degree it is true, the proper use of technology can eliminate this problem. For example, if a student uses smartphone during a class lecture, it will cause him difficulty to understand the class. Similarly, sometimes students use smartphone and computers excessively after the school which cause contradiction with their study schedule. But if smartphone use is banned in classroom and excessive usage of technology can be prevented after school, technology will do more good than anyone can ever imagine.

In conclusion, although innovations such as video, computers and the internet often distract from real learning, it creates far more opportunity in instructing students by offering superior presentation, animations, audio tutorial, video tutorial, and many more. For these reasons, technological innovations are improving the methods for instructing students.