Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the exposure problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be preferential and explain how these examples shape your position.

The issue whether government should focus on solving the immediate problems of today or try to solve the anticipated problems of the future is a contentious one. I believe government should put more emphasis on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future rather than solving the immediate problems of the today because it will make the country/world better for future generation. Moreover, some serious problems require long planning which can't be solved immediately.

People go to work everyday for providing food, shelter, education, better health care and other necessities to the family. They work hard because they believe if they work hard today they will be able to provide a better future for the family and for himself. Likewise, government should focus more on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future since it will ensure better health care, better transport system, better education system and better economy for the future generation.

Moreover, some problems can't be solved immediately. For example, the people of Dhaka are suffering from traffic jam everyday. For solving this problem, the government has taken the project of metro rail which will make the traffic condition of Dhaka worse. It may seem like more suffering for the people right now, but after two years the people of Dhaka will have an excellent traffic system. Same things can be said for population problem, housing problem and economy problem. So it takes time to solve far more important problems whether we like it or not.

Some may argue that focusing on immediate problems will make life better today. But the argument is flawed because if we think of today, we may never get metro rail. Consequently, we may have to deal with traffic jam for rest of our life along with our future generation.

Though it may seem lucrative to work on immediate problems of today rather than focusing on anticipated future problems, government should always try to focus on the anticipated future problems to shape a better future for our future generation. For these reasons, I believe government should put more emphasis on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future rather than solving the immediate problems of the today