The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

The desire of corporations to maximize profits may not create conflict with the general welfare of the nation as a whole and would help replete the nation with plethora of things to make it grow more and more stronger.

The maximization of profits at large corporations is basically a result of hardworking graduates and entrepreneurs who are inexorably working to provide for their families as well as help the nation to come up with new technologies to help make the life of a common man easier. The rise of technology has certainly provided us with technologies like car, mobile phones, television, computers, etc, which has helped us in our day to day life. Be it reaching on time to our office or to connect with our loved ones whenever we want or exchanging information with others via email.

More profit leads to more growth on the economic front. A good economy will help in reducing inflation to some extent making a good and healthy standard of life. More and more people will get jobs as the big multi-national companies have lucrative offers and salary for the people who ready to innovative and take the bar to another level to help achieve the company its goal which in turn increases the profits of the company and so the economy of the nation as a whole.

Although the rise of technology is a boon but it may have some adverse effect. Large corporations usually make great damage to the environment, and are often noxious to the quality of life in nearby areas. New environmental laws that require pollution control have been passed in recent years, however the harm caused to the nature is still high. Implementing the measures required is expensive and firms try to avoid doing it.

Maximization of profits as a whole would not create conflict with the general welfare of the people as whole instead it would make the nation stronger and will help people to enhance their standard of life and make their lives easier and could help them to improve their economy.