"The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large." Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your o

Corporations generally drive their decisions based on maximizing their profits. This directly as well as indirectly effects the general population of a nation. What is a nation without its people. Its effects have largely been observed the recent days.

Lets first discuss how this effects at an individual level thus effecting the nation. Most companies such as consumer grade products are at a very high price point. These products such as the IPhones from Apple Inc. gives a status quo to an individual. To match this social standards individuals they tend to overspend on such goods and services. This in turn decreases the spending capability of an individual on essentials and important things like education, financial stability and securing of their future.

Secondly, in order to attain such high profit margins a company has to cut down on its operation expenses somewhere. One example can be the labor working hard to make and provide these goods and services. Especially unskilled labor. This has become a recent issue across the world where the wages of theses individuals has been reduced to less than legally stated minimum wages. Such companies then go to other counties where the unskilled labor is cheap and more flexible. This does make sense for such corporations. But this this leads a reduction in the number of available jobs and increased unemployment in their nation.

Countries have started to acknowledge this issue and have passed new laws to reduce the tax on the companies to bring back jobs to their countries. Most executives who are the only one to profit do not think about its effect on their nation. I strongly agree with the view put forward by the author.