Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed

Education plays an important and most prominent role in building the life of an individual. It is this prominence that has made education take a high and respectable position in decision making during any stage of one’s life. The world today presents itself to be so unbiased that any decision made, either by instinct or by instruction, is let to be proved fruitful. It is at this stage that the impact of other factors or the extent to which they impact is to be reviewed.

Educational institutions imparting knowledge in any particular field of study will definitely carry the ability to analyze the likelihood of any student tasting success in the same. This is because the sole purpose of any institution would be to evaluate the depth of study of any student. Therefore, it becomes a moral responsibility of the institute to suggest if not mandate, the odds of pursuing any field of study.

On a practical scale, the institutions are to provide what has been asked for, irrespective of any outcome of an individual. The focus is on the group outcome for any institution and all the possible measures that can be taken in terms of improving the quality of education, required infrastructure or any other measures is on increasing the success rate and not fulfilling responsibilities which are more feasible from the students perspective.

Consider a field of study lasting a span of 4 years. It is highly unlikely that any institution can determine accurately the success rate of the students interested till the course is actually taken up. Any field of study has different views and projections to it and hence the selection of minor of that field or the mode of learning will also influence the students success. So it is impractical for educational institutions to carry the responsibility of dissuade students because the odds of these institutions being unsuccessful in determining ‘ success of students in any field ’ appears more.

On looking at various admission processes for education institutions, we come across different formats of tests that are taken up to determine the eligibility of students. This shows to an extent to which institutions play an indirect role in dissuading the students to continue further. It can be easily concluded that though educational institutions can act to dissuade students from taking up the field of study that they are not likely to succeed, it cannot be considered an executable responsibility and that the decision highly depends on students