Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

As we all know, there are “so-called” well-established paths to success these days. You are either forced to take streams like Engineering or medicine to make a fortune. But do we tend to forget that most of the successful people we know are those who had the guts to take the path less traveled, the ones which look stinky and the ones which are supposed to have a dead-end? With that thought process in mind, the claim presented does seem to have its own set of shortcomings.

If people like Newton and Einstein had thought of string theory in physics as a dead-end, Most theoretical physicists today would be jobless. If Charles Babbage went for biology instead of designing the greatest invention that humanity has ever seen just because math and computational science were subjects that had unlikely chances of fortune making, how different the world would have been today. Just because a path seems transparent and difficult to move forward doesn't necessarily make it the wrong choice.

Educational Institutions must be responsible for understanding where the interests of each student lie and guiding them through the various career opportunities that lie in front of them in this fast-moving world where the opportunities are endless. These institutions tend to categorize each field as a likely path to success on the mere assumption that it is a field that could maximize remuneration and not it's potential in the upcoming times. Rather than categorizing each career path as a field that could generate most pay, a responsible educational organization must have the ability to be able to find the best path for the particular student to excel in the field and make the path easier for the person.