Educational institutions, mainly high school and above, play a pivotal role in shaping the prospective career of an individual. While it will be beneficial for the students to receive a career suggestion based on his/her performances in certain areas of education, it is going a bit far in stating it is the responsibility of the institution in dissuading students from pursuing certain fields.

A student will most likely form a predilection towards a field based on his interests and insights gained in Pre-University College or School. Though there are more chances for these interests being aligned along those fields in which the particular student scores better and can do well in future, it is by no means an all inclusive scenario. Some might choose a field based solely on their interest independent of their current performances in those areas. These students can do amazingly well too owing to their undying interest and grit. On the other hand, as the only cue of educational institutions for any decision regarding the likeliness of a student’s success in a particular field is the their performance, these students would have dissuaded by their school in the first place because of their initial poor performances, and have consequently missed the later good part.

Additionally, some students would have little idea about what field to be pursued further and may end up taking rather a broader range of fields, and this is beneficial too since they would be knowledged in a variety of topics and can be useful in current society where we need more global scholars. This wouldn’t be highly unlikely too if educational institutions have persuasive in otherwise discouraging the students. Nevertheless, a career based suggestion would always help a student in gathering inputs and eventually aiding them to take a better informed decision about future.

Conclusively, a persistent dissuasion by educational institutions from pursuing fields would be rather inefficient to career of a student since such observations by the educational institutions is more likely to be based on the current performance of the student rather than on what can be done in the future. However, as mentioned earlier a informative career suggestion can be beneficial to a prospective student.