Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Should students who are found wanting in a particular field be discouraged? While some may argue that as an educational institution it's their responsibility to assess a students strength and weak points and encourage in line with their strengths, however their has been a few exceptionally cases where students considered to be extremely weak at a particular field of study turn out to become specialist at such fields. Considering these situations, I disagree that students should be discouraged in fields of study they are found wanting.

Firstly, Neurosurgeon and the first doctor to do a successful operation on the separation of Siamese twins, Dr Benjamin Carson was once referred to as a dumb child who wouldn't make anything in life by his then school teacher. But his mother who wouldn't accept failure refused to give up on him and encouraged her son by providing various methods and books for him to study, her actions galvanised him and thus made him into the genius that he his today. It can be seen here that though he was discouraged by his teacher his assidousness proved otherwise

Like Ben Carson, Nobel Prize winner, Albert Einstein was also considered a failure. Failing his exam into a polytechnic at the age of 16, he was considered to not be successful in the science field. Today his works are been referenced, and his theories have brough about the growth in various technological advancement. Albert, once thought unlikely to succeed in the field of science, turnaround to become one of the founding fathers of science. If he had been discouraged then we may probably still be living in the stone age today.

In conclusion, while some who have been encouraged to take on new roles by their institution have in fact turned out successful and better for it, such methods should not be applied generally as the various examples stated above has shown cases where such discouragement turned out to be false.