Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Over the last few years, there has been a continuous increase in the rate at which students drop out of tertiary institutions. This trend has been looked into by many academias, and some of them predicted that this incidence occur probably due to lack of students' interests in their course of studies. To gain grasp of this idea, and to suggest an improvement in the efficiency of educational institutions, the prompt argues that educational institutions should discourage students from enrolling into fields of study which they are unlikely to succeeed in. I mostly agree with this prompt for two reasons which I will elucidate below. However, I do concede that in certain situations, educational institutions should give chances to students to pursue their heartfelt course of study, even if it seems like they won't succeed in it.

To begin, educational institutions should make sure that new students are enrolling in a course which suits them the most because this will reduce the rate of students' apathy towards study and increase students' zeal and enthusiasm towards their course of studies. Ordinarily, most students probably enroll in courses without doing a proper background research on that field. Some students might want to study a course because their friends are studying it, and maybe not because they have passion for it. When such students get into the core of the program which they applied for, they might become bored or uninterested in the posed rigors in the courses. This might lead to them dropping out of school, or graduate from the field without any tangible thing to show from such studies. Conversely, If educational institution allow only students who have passion for their studies, and are well qualified to enroll in these programs, it will increase the probability of having students pursing a career in fields they are qualified for, and have great interest in. This might reduce the rate of dropouts and tepid interests among students towards their programs.

Secondly, educational institutions should discourage students from pursuing studies in fields they are unlikely to succeed in because they know more about students and the activities involved in a most studies. It is possible that a student might think he has the capacity or what it takes to undergo a particular program, but educational institutions might actually be the one that have a greater chance of predicting to a considerable extent the readiness, or the capacity of a student to carry out a study. Mostly, educational institutions will have records of students who want to enrol in a particular program. They can cross reference the students strengths and weaknesses to determine where students fits best. This will be at benefits to both the students and even the public at large, because it will enable the production of high-quality graduates.

Admittedly, educational institutions cannot be perfect in their predictions, and nothing is certain in the world we are. Educational institutions should allow for certain compromise to allow students pursue their desired course of study eventhough it seems like they are unlikely to succeed in such field. For instance, Most schools dissuaded Albert Einstein from pursuing a degree in physics because of his low grade in mathematics. However, Albert Einstein went ahead to further in this field and ultimately became the world's most respected scientist in mathematics and physics.

In conclusion, educational institutions should discourage students from undergoing studies in which they are unlikely to suceed in so as to increase enthusiasm of students towards their studies and produce high-quality graduates. However, they should also allow for some compromise to give leeway to some students to pursue their desired course of study.