The following appeared in a business magazine.

"As a result of numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea on the part of consumers of Promofoods tuna, the company requested that eight million cans of its tuna be returned for testing. Promofoods concluded that the canned tuna did not, after all, pose a health risk. This conclusion is based on tests performed on samples of the recalled cans by chemists from Promofoods; the chemists found that of the eight food chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists did find small amounts of the three remaining suspected chemicals but pointed out that these occur naturally in all canned foods."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

In the argument, the author concludes that Promofoods canned tuna did not pose a health risk. He arrives at this conclusion based on the results obtained from a series of tests performed on the samples of Promofoods recalled cans which found most of the cans free of hazard chemicals. The evidence cited, if valid, tends to give credibility to the argument’s claim. However, there are three questions which the author needs to answer in order to increase the persuasiveness of his claim.

Firstly, are the tests carried out by experts? The author concludes based on the results obtained from tests carried out on Promofoods tuna cans by certain chemists. However, it is possible that these tests were not carried out by experts with sound knowledge in chemical testing. There is a probability that the tests might not be properly conducted, or that the people involved are not experienced enough to discern the presence of chemicals in tuna cans. For instance, the experiments might be conducted by workers on training who have minimal experience in conducting these kinds of findings, and this might have a detrimental effect on the results obtained. It is also possible that the tests are indeed carried out by experts, but the results might be adulterated somehow due to some unforeseen circumstances. If it is possible that the result of the tests carried out by the chemists on the tuna cans might be affected by any factor whatsoever, and that the results may not be 100% percent reliable, then the author’s claim is significantly weakened.

Secondly, did the chemists test for other uncommon chemicals that can cause dizziness and nausea? The author states that only the most common chemicals that can cause dizziness and nausea were tested by the chemists, leaving out the uncommon ones. It is possible that the chemicals that Promofoods can contains are not the common ones. Since there are several other chemicals that can cause dizziness and nausea, it is possible that Promofoods contains the rare ones, and thus makes it unlikely for the chemists to see the presence of such chemicals since that is not what they were testing for. If this scenario is true, then Promofoods cans might indeed contain chemicals that pose health risks, and the author’s claim significantly weakened.

Finally, are eight million cans a significant number of cans to properly conclude the content of all the other cans? The author states that eight million cans were tested without providing evidence of the total amount of tuna cans Promofoods has. It is possible that the eight million cans are only a minute number compared to the total number of tuna cans that Promofoods has, and this makes it unlikely for us to rely on the results obtained on these numbers to be a portrayal of the content of the other tuna cans. The eight million cans might indeed be free of hazard chemicals, whereas the other cans that were not tested are not free of chemicals. There is no way we can know unless the author gives a reliably evidence on this. Hence, on this note, the author’s claim is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the author’s claim that Promofoods tuna cans are free of adverse chemicals, and does not pose any health risk is plausible. However, as it stands now, the author needs to answer the three questions cited above to increase the persuasiveness of his claim.