Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Students make a choice of the fields in which they wants to persue their career while entering the college. Colleges could play a major role in driving a students to their path of success. In this, the author claims that university should prevent the student from pursuing fields of the study in which they are less likely to be succeeded. I disagree with this claim due to certain below-mentioned reasons.

First, what are the factor that universities should take into account while making such decisions plays major role. If student had selected any branch then they would have selected on the basis of their interests. Now, if university had to prevent them from taking that decision then there would be certain factors which were likely to be assessed by the university before taking such decisions. Now the factor could be the academic perfomance of the student which shows that students are less likely to succeed in this branch, but university cannot rely solely on this factor taken into consideration. For example, Founder of Microsoft Bill Gates got very pover grades in the field of his study which was related to computer, but as we can see he was the one who brought revolution in the field of computer. So, the factor on which the students get assessed plays major role in such decisions.

Further more, there can be other social reasons which would indicate that the students are unlikely to be succeeded in their fields of study. But making decision based on such social reasons will clearly be considered inappropriate. For example, a student is not able to perform in the field of their study due to some finacial reasons but this does not define that student have no interest in the field of their study or student is not likely to be succeeded in their career. So, there can be some social problem related to student which would be hampering their perfomace and to take decision on such basis would be inappropriate.

In addition to this, students is not performing better in their field of choice because they are not getting proper knowledge from their professor. In this case if the university decide to prevent students from continuing their fields of study then it cannot be justified. For example, students are getting pover grade because the faculties are not properly transfering knolwedge to the students and not that student does not have interest in their fields. So, this also can be the case for the students to not perform up to the mark in their field of study.

One can argue that if student who had no interest in the field they are studying should be prevent before it is too late and preventing them to destroy their life. Now we can accept this argument up to on extanct but there would be very less number of students who pursue the field in which they are not inerested. So, for this small majority of student to impose a general rule would lead to several wrong decisions which can negatively impact the student's career.

Thus, we can conclude that the author's argument can be followed for the certain cases but not generally. The combine effort from the students and the university can always lead to the path of success for the students. It would be better if they could dig why a particular student is not perfoming up to the mark and try to understand their reason and eliminate it to make better path for the students in their journey of success.