Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

I disagree with the issue that there is responsibility on educational institutions to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. In today’s world, everyone knows his or her capabilities. Students in their childhood show glimpses of what they are to do in their future. They show their curiosity about their interests in early age and hence they work towards it trying to build themselves so that they can pursue their interests in future.

The very old thought that ‘Experience is the best teacher’ is often true. Students spend most of their time in educational institutions with their teachers. Teachers know their students well. Teachers come to know about the student’s interest from the student’s concentration and attention in the class during the lecture or practicals. The type of questions the student asks signifies his or her interest in that particular subject. The teacher gets to know the student’s ability to understand the subject. Therefore, the teacher may have some part to guide the student to pursue the field of study in which he can succeed but not entirely.

In today’s competitive world, everyone knows his ken. Everybody wants to be a successful person in future and hence he starts planning for it right from his study life. The students know their strengths and weaknesses and hence try to work towards it. They know their capabilities and select the field of study in which they are likely to succeed. Unlike from the past, when parents or teachers would help the students pursue their field of study, now the students have become so intelligent that they themselves find out from different sources on the internet of to what is good for them.

In the past there were few of the students whose parents would be highly qualified and hence they would not be able to help their children as to what to pursue as a field of study. Hence they would approach the educational institutions for it. But since many years, people have given more importance to education and now parents of many children are highly qualified that the responsibility on educational institutions have become minimal.

Hence, I would like to conclude the issue by stating that due to highly qualified people in the families and in the surroundings educational institutions have no responsibility of dissuading students from the field of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.