Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/ or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Mercenary factor is one of reasons for students to select their careers, but it is not the most important one. For individuals, it is understandable to set making money as the top priority, but in the long run, spiritual needs are more vital and meaningful to them, let alone educational institutions, which are invented to educate students to chase priceless dreams instead of temporal pursuits.

Admittedly, earning money is a very reality problem for students especially for those from poverished family, who are eager to be paid rich to pay back for their school debt. Even some students regard making money as their first purpose of their lives, which is not a fault, because it is baleful to judge one's choice as long as that is within the range of law. So in context like that, schools may guide them or inform them how to reach their goals or which way they should go to maximize their possibility to success. In other words, institutions are helping certain students based on particular cases.

However, it is wrong for educational institutions to trumpet lucrative careers as all students' priority. As educational institution, their biggest job is to educate students not only with knowledge, but the meaning of life, except certain cases mentioned before, the school should be normative, should encourage students to explore, to try, to find what is theire true enthusiasm.

If schools are actively encouraging students to select lucrative careers, most of them may have chosen finance fileds to start with, causing a large vacuous gap in other pay-less fields while hurting the balance in finance field as well. More graduates influx in that area, engendering larger pressure of peer and difficulty of getting a same job compared to previous years, which is called, "involved". Such fact can be viewed from China's market, in recent years, nearly ten-million new graduates involved into China's employment market, such situation not only increases the difficulty of finding a job, but also brings a problem is that, fewer and fewer blue-tie jobs are intriguing for those students. That may stem from China's educational system, overduely focusing on pragmatism, ignoring the importance of meaningful guidence in high school.

Furthermore, what those institutions should do is that, encourage students to deliberate what they want in the future, and by the same time provide them data regarding the real world.

To sum up, lucrative careers are enchanting for everyone, but as an institution, the horizon should not be limited by monetary factor, instead, should fixate on the effects of education on the whole society. Even schools should not actively encourage them to select high-salary jobs, they still should let student konw the benefits and downsides of a certain career, that is called the real guildence making students to deliberate.