Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

The arguer claims that education institutions should encourage their students to pursue majors that will bring them remunerative outcomes. It is an undeniable fact that there are quite a few people, no matter their nationalities, races, genders, choosing fields of study on pragmatic considerations. However, there are still considerable individuals choose a career based on their natural talents and interest.

Admittedly, to make a living is such a basic need in surviving, especially in such a highly competitive and relatively earthy world. In recent years, more and more college students choose STEM fields (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) as their majors, while not all of them are having such a big interest in those subjects. For some people, economic burdens place heavily shackles on them, impeding them from freely selecting careers that they like and have talents in. When one is facing large amount of student loans which is expected to be paid back in five or ten years as well as unemployed parents who living on allowance, he or she give in to practical reasons. After all, it’s relatively easy of finding a job, making a respectable salary, getting a fortune and promotion. They believe only when one’s living is under security could one have the freedom to choose what he likes. Thus, it is understandable for them to prefer pragmatism than idealism.

However, the author made such a claim that instigate us to meditate what is the essence of higher education. Is it proper for any education institution to render such suggestions to its enrolled students? The essence of education ought to be the interpretation and acquisition of knowledge, a pursuit of truth regardless of its consequences for profit. Encouraging students to go after so-called lucrative careers while ignoring their real interests and betraying the idea of education is not beneficial to a society in a long run. The materialism of modern society, to a certain extent, is the conspicuous outcome of this “practical” value.

In addition, a student who chooses a subject that does not interest him may facing great difficulties completing his study. Interest is the best teacher. Without a curiosity, he or she is unlikely to make an outstanding breakthrough in academic as well as working zone. Following such a “practical” principle is not advantageous to personal long-term development.

In the contrast, regardless of pragmatic considerations, some individuals tend to select what they really like as a career. For example, if Sun Yat-sen, the first president and founder of Republic of China had gave in to such profitable future as a doctor, he would not become a revolutionary that overthrew Qing Dynasty and developed the well-known Three Principles of the People: nationalism, democracy and welfare. The sameness can also be found in a great many scholars, scientists, artists and so on who caring little about the feedback and living an un-wealthy life, who devoting themselves to the improvement for the better life of human beings, who pursuing the path they want.

In sum, educational institutions shall not intervene their students’ freedom of choosing fields of study. It’s reasonable for ones seeking relatively profitable fields based on pragmatic concerns. However, an overly emphasis on encouraging pragmatism-lucrative careers –is not only inimical to personal development but also unfavorable to social progress.