Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and su

There is no shortage of opinions regarding if schools should dissuade students from study subjects and courses they would not get success to be approved, what makes this issue a contentious one. While each view on this topic has its strengths and weaknesses, I strongly believe the schools should encourage students to perform better rather than counseling them to give up when facing a new challenge.

First of all, the role of the schools in society is to produce skilled and inspired professionals, who can contribute to solve complex society challenges. In this sense, a school would not be contributing to the society if it does not challenge its students to master fields of study where they are not comfortable with just because they are likely to fail on them. This kind of school would be forming lazy professionals that cannot stand against new and complex problems to be solved. For example, when I was in the high school, all the math tests had one "challenge" question, usually extracted from advanced books. This question was an opportunity to all the students expand their frontiers of knowledge and attempting to gain extra points by solving untouched problems. This approach surely made me more comfortable to new challenges in my professional life.

The second reason supporting my opinion is that any school adopting this kind of policy would be cheating its national success rates. In fact, an ease way to raise the school student's average scores would be just preventing them to take courses they are not likely to pass. Using this approach, a school could be ranked among the top schools in terms of student’s success and scores even with poorly skilled students and professors.

On the other hand, one may argue that such policy could make the students less frustrated and more likely to continue its studies. Moreover, it could be stated that this policy would made the students more specialized on their natural strengths. Nevertheless, these points are flawed, since a lot of studies can make proof that professionals with greater interdisciplinary background and who better manage to acquire new knowledge quickly are the most successful ones.

To sum up, schools should be designed to encourage people to expand their knowledge and to train them to perform successfully in solving our daily multifaceted problems. Also, such policy should contribute for schools with poor quality of education cheat they position in national rankings. For these reasons I definitely believe that dissuade students to not take courses they would probably fail is not a good policy to be taken in educational institutions.