Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Assessment are generally done to know the level of understanding of a student of what he/she has learn. The prompt suggests that the educators should not only limit their assesment of the student based on what the student can recall after learning particular subject or topic. Perhaps, it should be based on the student's ability to explain the same concept with more illustration and facts. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the suggestion and argue that the assesment should be more comprehensive rather than just test of memory recall for three reasons.

First of all, there is potential flaw in the assesment process based on the grasp of concepts by the students that such memory recall could be from short term memory of the humans. For Example, in general curriculam of the school, term exam paper are set such that they just ask for the answer which are based on the information given in the standard textbook designed for the particular class. In such exam the students who are able to memorize answer gets where good marks but this doesn't mean that they fully understood what they have memorize, because such answer are just stored in short term memory of the humans and could be lost out in further passage of time. After a month, if the same question paper is given to the same students for a surprise test then it is probable that most of the students could fail in the examination. The above example illustrates that just a grasp of the facts is not sufficient to evaluate the understanding of the concepts learnt by the students.

Secondly, when a person understand the basic concepts and logic behind it, he/she is able to draw different inference based on that, which could result into widen the scope of understanding eventually result back in the form of more clear explainations and examples. For Example, the great scientist Albert Einstein was not only famous for his complex theory and research. He was famous due to his simplicity of explaining the concepts with so ease that a naive toddler could also understand the most complex pnomenon of universe. So, this explain that a better understanding and a ability to explain back concepts comes when you are able to understand the naunces and subtlety behind the idea. Such understading could help the student for long term acedemic and research. Hence, it is better to have assesment which consist of metrics to measure the ability and capcity of student to explain and illustrate the concept.

Finally, the single factor and straight forward assesment procedure in easy to crack and tampered but a multi-factor comprehensive evaluation procedure is hard to break-in which could help to curb the quantity of "Educated Student". For Example, most of the time standard and straight-forward questions are designed for examination, because of this what happen that student slowly get to know this designed pattern and build a tool to crack such examination. So, because they are able to understand the pattern and study what is neccessary for the exam this doesn't mean that they have overall understanding of the subject. This is due to the limited scope or areas they need to study for the examination because of such exam patterns. If such examination question are change to more open type question where the student need to give his understanding then he need to himself understand it first before answering such questions. Therefore, such multi-factor assesment is better for educators to asses the level of understanding of the fellow students.

In conclusion, we can say that a it is always better for a educators to have a procedure for evalution more comprehensive, multi-factor and little widen in scope rather than straight-forward question based on ability of a students to memorize the concepts.