Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

Learning assessments are the best ways to judge whether the knowledge imparted is imbibed and assimilated by the student correctly. Without such a mechanism, it will be impossible to conclude where the student stand with respect to their understanding of the subject. According to the author these assessments should be based not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to interpret and analyze the ideas those facts illustrate. I am not in complete agreement with this statement.

Although the author is correct in taking into account the analysis of the facts, as part of the assessment, the author undermines the role of grasping the facts. This argument is flawed since the analysis can only be built upon the grasping of the facts. Without a clear understanding of the facts, it will be impossible for the student to derive an analysis and interpret ideas based on those facts. The relationship here is a hierarchical one. Without a lucid grasp on the facts, sound ideas cannot be developed.

A feasible way to make a healthy assessment would be to test whether the student has a clear grasp of the concepts being taught, and only when satisfactory results are obtained here, should the educator move on to test the understanding of ideas and concepts based on the facts.

For instance, while assessing a student on his understanding of Newton's laws of motion, it is pertinent that the student be assessed first whether he remembers the laws and related equations correctly, and only then assessed to solve practical problems based on those laws or their derivatives. If he fails in the first test, he is doomed to fail in the second one as well. The prudent technique here would be to educate the student until he has a clear grasp on the facts and then assess the analysis.

The ability to express ideas and concepts based on facts is a superior skill. It involves building logical skills and reading between the lines in some cases. These analytical skills depend upon the cognitive abilities of the students, which vary from student to student. Hence some students are bound to fair low on these skills. Basing assessments solely on the analytical skills might turn out to be unfair to the students unless analytical skill development was the course they enrolled for.

In summation, although understanding of the ideas and interpretations of the facts taught in a class are important factors to consider during an assessment, the basic understanding of facts should not be undermined, since the former is built on latter.