Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts

Facts are what you call reality. The things that you see, hear, feel in your day-to-day life is based on reality and that is nothing but facts. Concepts are derived from facts. When we ask questions such as Why, How based on facts, we find the concept behind it. Hence,I oppose when the author says that facts should be taught after concepts.

Before giving any delineate explanation, i would like to clarify the difference between facts and concept. As mentioned earlier, facts are reality. For instance, grass is green in color, is a fact. The concept would start with 'why' is grass green in color? After thorough research conducted by botanists, they found the answer behind the green color of grass and that is, when sunlight reaches the grass it absorbs all the color except green and reflects that green color which gets reflected into our eyes and we see the green color of grass and this process is called chlorophyll.

Now imagine our educators first explaining about chlorophyll without stating the fact. Most of us would feel lost as the content doesn't seem pertinent. Something as simple as the color of grass seems abstruse with mere concept. That is because we require reason to understand the big picture and that's why students would have had a conspicuous understanding had the fact been told beforehand. It would make the bigger picture relevant and eventually have a cogent understanding. Humans are capable to store and process information only when it's relevant to ones life. Our brain finds information trivial if it is not pertinent and it would often get confused if suddenly one throws words like 'chlorophyll' or 'reflection of light' as these are not the words we speak in our day-to-day lives.

Learning which is based mostly on concept and less on the fact behind it, is called as rote learning and students often end up mugging the concept as it is not pertinent. The reason education is the most important thing in ones life is because it gives purpose to your life. It helps us augment the technology by applying the concepts we learnt. But such won't be the case if those concepts are not clear. Students often learn these concept with mere intention to score good grades in exam without understanding the true meaning behind it. Moreover, concepts were discovered only when thinkers and researchers questioned the facts. Concept of Gravitational force came into picture only when Newton questioned why did the apple fell on ground? Or the concept of Earth's rotation on its axis was discovered when thinkers questioned about the fact of day and night.

Hence, curiosity develops when we start questioning the facts and this eventually helps us understand new concepts and that is the right way to learn. Students should be taught the reason behind the concept first before delineating the concept. This will help them relate to concept and later apply it and be more curious to carry out research work. After all, that is the purpose of education - to generate curious beings who can solve problems and sustain humanity.