"Students should memorize facts only after they have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

Students who have learned only facts have learned very little."

do facts facilitate learning on their own or do they best serve as examples for understanding concepts and ideas taught in a better way? Although students may believe that memorizing information directly is an indicator of their intellectual ability because of the type of questions asked in exams, when it comes to thriving in a work environment, reliance on memory can prove futile since real life challenges cannot be dealt with without applying knowledge and problem solving skills.

One example which demonstrates the vitality of understanding concepts instead of mugging up factual content is lawyers arguing in court. Though they need to remember laws and constitutional rights, and study lots of cases, without their ability to understand which arguments to put forward and which precedents to cite for the case they are presently dealing with, they cannot be successful.

Like lawyers, the job of engineers and scientists not only requires them to have a remarkable understanding of the concepts which explain the various phenomenon in our surroundings, but also be able to continue to come up with new ideas and models that improves this understanding. Specifically, if they merely memorize the features of a particular technology, there would be wide gaps in their knowledge about how it works and by the time they do that, another technology would come up which they would want to know about, and so on.

In conclusion, it is extremely important to grasp concepts properly before the facts supporting them can serve a useful purpose. As students move from writing exams to working as lawyers or scientists, their understanding is of utmost importance to help them function in these roles in the best possible way.