"Students should memorize facts only after they have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

Students who have learned only facts have learned very little."

The speaker makes a threshold claim that students should learn facts only if they have studied sufficient background about it.

I agree insofar that mere memorization would not produce any great results as they do not learn necessary concepts to explain,interpret and appreciate the facts.

However the speaker unfairly generalizes in the second part of the assertion that students who have studied only facts have little knowledge.

One reason for my fundamental agreement with the speaker is mere learning of facts impedes creativity of students to certain extent.For example, a student may learn the names

of all countries of the world including the names of their capitals. But these facts does not take into account the background of each country,how and when it was discovered,

what are its cultures and underlying traditions,where does it stand among all the countries and many more trivial factors.Another example to support this claim is memorizing all

the existing chemical elements by looking at the periodic table. Just learning all the elements does of the periodic table does not add any value unless proper knowledge of

why and how subdivision was made, who came up with this brilliant of arranging these elements etc. are answered.

Another compelling reason to agree with the speaker is that the knowledge of these facts is ephemeral. Without knowing its ideas,concepts etc it does stay in the mind forever.

Researchers have come up with a theory which suggests that, unless certain facts or information perceived is used or applied in somewhere ,only then these facts stay for longer time.

An advantage of learning about ideas, trends and concepts that describe the facts will ensure an individual to interpret the facts,spot flaws in it (if any) and come up

with necessary modifications to circumvent them. For example, when Nicolas Copernicus, an eminent astronomer came up with neo-centric theory that earth is stationary and all other celestial

objects including sun is revolving around the earth ,people accepted this fact as an obvious one and hailed Copernicus for his success. More than a century later Galileo refuted this theory and put forth

heliocentric theory which stated that Sun was at the center and all celestial bodies revolved around it.

However,I disagree with the speaker's generalization that Students who have preferred studying only facts have only learned a little.Some are facts are like axioms.

It is not possible to determine why they have been proclaimed. If an individual tries to find out the underlying reason for each and every fact existing in this world

his efforts will eventually result in vain.

In sum, I suggest that learning only facts without necessary background hinders students' creativity and hence deliberate efforts has to be made in learning them.

Facts are nothing but outer space i.e only vacuum unless filled with necessary ideas . Yet, since facts are the very stuff from which ideas, concepts, and trends spring, without some facts students cannot learn much of anything.

In the final analysis, then, students should learn facts right along with concepts, ideas, and trends.