Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors to enable them secure jobs is not logically sound because of the underlying assumptions.

The author assumes that students are obtaining inflated grades because of implementing the feedback procedure. However, there could be other reasons apart from the leniency of professors in grading. it is possible that students started performing better due to which they were able to obtain higher grades. Alternatively, the professors could have started putting more efforts in making their lectures more pithy due to which students were able to learn and score more. The evidence for whether the evaluation methods followed before and after the procedure was implemented is missing.

Moreover, the termination of the evaluation procedure cannot ensure that the overall student grade average would plummet. A causal relationship between revoking the procedure and change in the grade average has not been supported by a reason.

Even if the grades were to decrease, it cannot be ensured that the employment rate would increase. The employers are skeptical of the dramatic rise in grades, their opinion about a decrease in grades has not been noted. there mightbe other factors they consider for employing graduates.

In conclusion, the argument is not entirely convincing because of the lack of evidence for strengthening the aforementioned assumptions. The decrease in employment rate due to inflated grades after implementing the evaluation procedure does not imply that revoking the procedure would lead to a decrease in grades or that a decrease in grades would lead to a higher employment rate. Ultimately, the argument could be strengthened by providing evidence regarding the evaluation procedure being the sole cause of the inflated grades as well as of the low employment rate.