Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

The proposition that students must be taught facts only after they have learnt the concepts, ideas and trends required to explain those facts is an allusion to the deductive method of teaching where facts or observations are preceded by generalization. The opposite strategy is called as the inductive method where facts are to be taught before conceptualizing. Given that both the methods are advantageous, depending upon the circumstances, the binary recommendation is unwise.

At the first instance, the recommendation appears to have considerable merit considering the manifold advantages of the teaching that instills ideas before facts. The method is useful to learn about a large number of facts and concepts to be taught in a shorter time. For example, students can be taught about a Law in physics and then asked to predict the results of many related experiments, or they can be taught about a Mathematical theorem or formulae and then asked to solve myriad related numerical or word problems. Similarly, there are studies in psychology or statistics, where due to a very large sample size; it is wiser to understand the resulting trend instead of tediously scrutinizing every sample result.

Moreover, This method gives a teacher more control and predictability of the learning outcomes because it is up to him or her to decide the sequence of information to be presented. Interestingly, many scientific theories have been conceptualized using the deductive approach before any corroborating observations could be made e.g. Higgs-Boson particle theory, ‘string’ theory, etc. Thus, this strategy helps appreciate the theoretical aptitude of children require to make such contributions. However, teaching facts before ideas or trends is a natural way of gaining knowledge. This process can be helpful in many cases. For example, for students pursuing Laws studies learning about the facts of internet phishing can help judge the relevance of current cyber security laws, thus paving for their reforms. Or, management students can learn about the ‘dos’ and ‘don’ts’ of managing an enterprise by learning about case studies thus helping them formulate management strategies. If the responsibility of generalizing a trend from the given facts is put on the students, it will invoke their greater participation, hence rendering it a student-centered approach. The more the time is spent on generalizing facts, the greater is the retention and transfer of knowledge.

Moreover, not every student has the mental ability to grasp concepts before learning facts. For instance, that the earth revolves around the sun is a fact and the gravitational force is the underlying idea or concept. It is easier for students to learn about gravity from the revolution of the sun and not the vice versa. Similarly, it is easier for them to fathom the concept of wave-particle duality in electrons from the facts of the ‘double slit’ experiments. Likewise, there are many abstract ideas which are easier to understand by learning facts before ideas or trends e.g. Darwinian process of natural selection, photoelectric effect, chemical reaction mechanisms, etc.

In conclusion, while teaching concepts, trends or ideas before facts is useful for some subjects or topics, the opposite strategy is also advantageous depending upon the subject being taught and the mental maturity of the students. While the former pedagogy allows for faster learning of many concepts or facts in shorter time, the latter is a more student-centered approach paving for better retention and transfer of knowledge.