The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position

Leaders are essential to any country for smooth functioning, development and well-being of citizen. However, the question arises how the effectiveness of leader is assess. The given prompt argues that in order to determine leader potential, one should evaluate the well-being of the country’s citizen. Because of the availability of natural resources, presence of other index factor to determine leader competence, and policy and program that seem to be ineffective at present times but effective in future, I believe that prosperity of country’s citizen is not only the sole factor to determine leader potential.

Let consider the case: If the country having sheer natural resources utilizes such resources vastly, then without the effort of leader, the citizen can have prosperous life. You can take the example the Middle East countries such as Kuwait, Saudi Arabia. Because these countries consist large amount of oil resources, citizen are having prosperous life through the allotment of oil export, without any significant role of leader to contributing in citizen welfare. In the other hand, countries in South East Asia like India, Pakistan have leader like Rajiv Gandhi, Manmohan Singh are considered as effective leader as they developed the economy of the country, scotch corruption, but the well-being of the citizen have trivial growth during their period.

In certain cases, the policy and program implemented by leader can cause dissatisfaction, but in the long run that implementation can be effective to the country. For instance, we can see many leader like Abram Lincoln were criticized for their giving rights to negro people at their contemporary time, but in the present day, such leader are recognized at the effective leader of their times. Similarly, we can hear that the Donald Trump is vituperated for causing much harassment for immigrant American citizen. So can we say that the Donald Trump is ineffective leader? Perhaps, like Lincoln, the answer lies in future progeny rather than at present times.

However, leader focusing on the well-being of the people are also considered competent leader. In Bhutan, there is separate ministry known as happiness ministry, which deals with people happiness. Quality of life is also a key index which represents the country development level, but in order to achieve it, at first, leader should focus on education, economic growth, infrastructure development as this parameter plays imminent role to increase quality of life of people. So, leader who advances the country towards this developmental parameter is also considered great leader.

In conclusion, due to above mentioned reasons; one should not determine the leader potential by only focusing on prosperity of citizen. Therefore, we have to focus, including people quality of life, on various parameters like development, education to determine leader potential.