Every individual in a society has a responsability to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

At a first glance, it sounds a fair argument giving the core of what justice means and espouse. One may agree that unfair laws are biased to provide rights to just a part of the society and the definition of justice is based on treating everyone equally. Thus everything that asides that configuration should be neglected by people.

However, society is based on rules. Since the begining of modern civilization, laws were created to provide organization to the members of a society. And the effectiveness of that organization depends on the obeyance of the conclusions made by the legislators. If everyone decides what is supposed to obey or disobey, laws would not be necessary and this organization would turn into an anarchy.

The interpretation of fairness is not a deterministic matter, so if one choose to obey just what he or she consider a fair issue, there would be no law at all. Considering the normal functioning of governamental organizations, legislators make laws based on their interpretation of what is fair or not, taking into cosideration what they think is the best for the society as a whole, and what is not. But since such conclusions are subjective, what is stated as fair by their eyes could possibly not be by the others'.

As an example, if someone kills another person because he or she tried to steal from him, being prosecuted and convicted for that action could sound extremelly unfair to the former. On the other hand, for others, killing is a crime independent of the circunstances. Therefore, givin that unfairness is more an interpretation than an assertion, the obeyance of laws should not be an individual choice.

Shifting gears to an other field of justice, let's considering the taxes imposed by the government on its citzens as another example. Taxes are much more detrimental to impoverished people than they are to wealthy ones. But as a society, everyone has to pay for them. By the perspective of the poorest ones, this is unfair. On the other hand, others could allegate that all members should be taken as equal, and for that reason, once taxes are mandatory, every member of that society should pay for it.

Fairness and its counterpart are interpretations which change by the perspective of the person assessing it. Giving its beliefs, past experiences, enviroment and several other variables. For that reason, laws are created so that everyone suceptible to its applicability could be charged for not following them. Thus, it should not be an individual option to decide to which of them to obey or not. Otherwise their simple existance would not be warranted.