Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The purpose of having laws is to ensure that the society stays stable and organized. They are made through thorough discussion and investigation, to protect people to live a life without experiencing injustice. However, there are also laws that are to protect only certain people. I believe each individual has a responsibility to obey laws that are only justifiable and it is up to their conscientious to either resist or obey unjust laws.

First of all, just as mentioned above, laws are created in order to make the world a better place to live in. It is made to enable every people in the society to pursue happiness in their lives. As an example, I would like to mention about laws that protect certain individuals, such as those who are socially placed in weak positions. There were many women in the world being abused my men but such criminality is currently decreasing theses days. Women were sexually abused, physically abused, and mentally abused by men who wishes to prove their power by manipulating those who are weaker than them. If the men continued to pursue his morbid criminality without obeying the just laws, it can also encourage other men to engage in the same transgression and would cause women to constantly fear being harassed. There would be no more happiness for half of the population. However, because the people try to obey the laws thinking that it is their responsibility, the world is still a good place to live in.

Furthermore, there are also laws that are created only for the purpose of ensuring certain types of people to impair other people. For example, a CEO of a company has the power to create and eliminate laws, manipulating them for his/her own favor. He/she may even create laws that can destroy one's lives without having to ask for such injustice when one tries to resist such unjustifiable laws. If this is the case, how can an individual stand up for justice when resisting could take away their lives? Some people who are audacious enough to risk their lives would be able to disobey and pursue justice, but it should not be the individual's responsibility to resist unjust lives.

To sum up, laws are generally created to ensure every individual's happiness and provide justice. However, there could be some laws that provides justice only for those who have power and can impair other individual's lives. Due to this, I believe that for just laws, each individual has the responsibility to obey, but for unjust laws, it should not be their responsibility to resist.