Knowledge is an important part of our life. Some people prefer having deep knowledge about one particular subject, while others prefer having widespread knowledge about a variety of subjects. Which do you prefer and why?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Make sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

Nowadays, possessing knowledge is one way of surviving. Not having any sort of knowledge in a field is a great disadvantage and would easily be surpassed by those who possess knowledge. In a similar aspect, I believe that it is better to have widespread knowledge in a variety of fields than being well-acknowledged in a certain area. The reason to why I believe this way will be elaborated in more detail below.

First of all, as time passed, the importance of collaboration increased. Studies that are conducted these days are extremely complex and require people from various studies to come together. I would like to mention creating robots as an example. Robots are an intricate device which is created through collaboration of those who are an expert in robotics, computer science, mathematics, and even designers. Having knowledge in only the field they are an expert in would lead to miscommunication and would have spend immense amount of time in understanding each other. However, if they had at least a certain amount of knowledge in each other's field, then less miscommunications would occur, and they would be able to finish the project in a relatively short amount of time.

Moreover, companies nowadays tend to hire those who are well-acknowledged to multiple fields. In the case of software companies, an ideal employee would require knowledge not only in software developing, but also in psychology and even finance. Implementing a novel program is not a significant importance anymore. Companies these days focus more on developing programs that are easy to use in a wide range of people and should also be cost-effective. Being an expert in only one of the fields mentioned above, they wouldn't meet the requirements and would not be able achieve the job offered in the company.

Last but not least, having widespread knowledge in various fields is a great advantage for an individual in the sense of protection and saving money. For instance, unprecedented happenings could occur such as being attacked. If an individual have knowledge in law even if they are an expert in other fields, such as knowing the importance in acquiring evidences, in the case mentioned above, evidences would indicate photos of bruises, then this would help them in punishing the attacker and achieve justice. However, if they had no knowledge, then they wouldn't receive justice to what they had to go through. Similarly, many people hire experts in finance, who are extremely costly, in inhibiting the possible ways of money being leaked, but if one had knowledge in finance, they would easily be able to preserve their profit without the help from experts.

To sum up, while some might claim that having deep knowledge in a particular subject is better, having knowledge in various subjects is much better because it helps multiple experts in effective communication when collaborating and is a great advantage for individuals.