The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager of a television station claims that the program should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level, and suggests several reasons that seem to uphold his/her claim. However, the memorandum is rife with holes and assumptions, which need to be eliminated in order for the business manager to maintain his/her claim with clear warrant. Such flaws will be discussed with further details below.

First of all, the author assumes that the complaints received were mainly about less devotion to weather news. However, he/she needs to clarify exactly what the complaints were about. Maybe it actually contradicts to the author's assumption and was actually about the news program covering less national news and more on weather and local news. Maybe a war had been occurring in certain regions and people were interested in listening to this news, when the national news suddenly stopped airing and moved on to weather and local news. Or, maybe late-night viewers favored national news because they were already informed with local news through other news programs.

Furthermore, the author needs to clairfy the numerical amounts of complaints the news program received and who were filing complaints. For example, even if the unsatisfaction is mainly about the coverage of weather and local news, if there were in total five complaints among thousands of viewers, then the complaints would be negligible enough. Moreover, there is also a possibility that the complaints were allowed to be filed anonymously, and one viewer was filing the same complaints multiple times. Maybe this certain person liked getting attention or liked the feeling of being able to manipulate other people, and filed complaints in order to pursue his/her desire.

Secondly, the author reasons that advertising buisness canceled their contract due to the alteration in the coverage of weather and local news. However, this is clearly a wrong indication because there could be multiple reasons adversiting businesses canceling their contracts. Maybe the advertising businesses weren't able to afford the expensive advertising fees and had to retract, regardless of the alteration. Moreover, the adversiting businesses could have newly developed a product that is not suitable for late-night viewers. Maybe they need to advertise baby products targeting young mothers, who are highly unlikely to be staying up late.

Last but not least, the author assumes that the loss of viewers in the late-night program is due to the alteration in the coverage and advertising contracts being retracted. However, maybe the majority of the late-night viewers prefer to watch the news online, instead of turning on the television. Because of advancement technology, people are allowed to watch scraps of news through various online news platforms, which could be much more expedient than offline news programs. If so, then the business manager would have to considering expanding the business to online news platforms, instead of being concerned about the alteration in the coverage of weather and local news.

To sum up, even though the business manager's claim might seem plausible, through thorough investigation and reading the memorandum from various points of view, it is confirmed that his/her claim is clearly unwarranted. In order for the author to maintain his/her claim with upholding evidences, he/she would have to eliminate the flaws of making haste assumptions and indications, providing lack of clear and substantial information, and lacking of thorough investigation.