The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The firm claims that the client should invest in the Consolidated industries because there will increased demand for heating oil. He/she advocates the claim with several reasons that seem plausible. However, it is rife with holes and assumptions which needs to be eliminated, in order to better bolster his/her claim, which will be discussed with further details below.

First of all, the author causes a mistake of applying peripheral data into holistic data. For example, he/she reasons that because the weather forecaster predicts that the climate would be facing below-normal for several more years since it has been 90 days experiencing abnormally cold weather, there would be more demand in heating oil. However, this seems like a premature generalization. One can never predict how the weather would actually turn out. If having a below-normal temperature is abnormal, the weather could retrieve back to being normal and it would not be cold enough to use extensive amount of heating oil.

Furthermore, he/she claims that because the northeastern United States traditionally used heating oil, it would still be the same. However, the world is changing and there are various ways in heating the insides of the homes. We cannot be certain that the people in that region will still be using the same traditional strategy. Maybe using heating oil turns out not to be economical or environmentally unfriendly, and they are now using a new type of source in order to fuel the temperature of their house. Tradition can always change if there is a better modernized solution, so we cannot rely on the fact that heating oil would still be a dominant source of home heating.

Lastly, the firm advocates his/her claim by stating that because the population is growing and many new homes are being constructed, there will be more demands in heating oil. However, population growth does not always indicate in increase in new families. What if the growth of population only means that there are more babies being born? If this is the case, the number of families is the same as before, which leads to the demand of heating oil being the same as before.

To sum up, the firm's claim that the client should invest in Consolidated industries does seem plausible. However, through thorough investigation and reading the letter in various views, it could be confirmed that the letter is implausible and that there are several flaws that the firm needs to eliminate. In order for the author of the letter to maintain his/her claim, he/she should not generalize small data and suggest unwarranted and unclear proofs.