Every individual in society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust ones.

'A citizen of a country must abide by its laws'; this statement is a universal truth and there is no escaping it. I completely disagree with the statement provided in the prompt as it could cause huge aberrations in a society or, even a country. All laws created are for the overall betterment and better working of a society. The concept of 'just' or 'unjust' law is a consequence of how the said law is being perceived by a person.

Criminals have committed all sorts of crimes, ranging from petty crimes like stealing a piece of cookie to horrendous ones like murdering several people. however, they could very well argue that the law they broke was an 'unjust' one. The sense of right and wrong is a very personal and intimate thing to the person himself. he might have some specific reasons to consider a law 'unjust', maybe his upbringing inculcated in him that this particular law was unjust and he should either disobey or, to the very least, resist it. Perhaps, leading him to think that murdering a person is a completely normal thing.

Another instance could be, a person running late for an extremely important meeting. she might take the liberty to break all the traffic lights on the way to her work and whizzing past the quotidian traffic. To her, she is disobeying a law that could cost her her work and breaking the law is justified to her. but, the law is there to protect her life and others present on that crossroads. she might perceive it as an 'unjust' law but to the contrary, it is present to ensure her safety.

Proponents of this statement might say that a government might be unjust towards its citizens by implementing extreme laws to keep them in check. In these very few countries, it might be the right thing to disobey or resist the unjust laws, however, care must be taken to decide which law is 'just' and which one 'unjust'. Such situations are very unlikely in countries with good foundations and in the current international environment where there are associations to look over this.

In the broader, general meaning of the statement given in the prompt, one person might find a law 'just', whereas another person might find the same law 'unjust'. Therefore, in conclusion, everyone should obey all the laws, irrespective of what we perceive of it.